FAQ

Financial institutions are key private sector actors. They can play a crucial role in financing the transition towards a less resource-intensive green economy.

Despite its clear potential, the financing of these investments by local banks still continues to be limited due to a number of technical barriers (national regulatory frameworks, lack of local expertise) and financial barriers (small businesses perceived as being more risky, limited capital, skills remain weak in banks).

However, there is an intermediate market between the large corporates that are already regularly financed by local banks and companies that would not be in a position to benefit from a loan.

The objective of the SUNREF (Sustainable Use of Natural Resources and Energy Finance) initiative developed by Agence Française de Développement (AFD) is to support financial institutions and their clients in order to boost financing for projects for sustainable natural resources management, with a focus on clean energy.

AFD’s action firstly involves offering long-term financial instruments and, secondly, contributing to building the technical capacities of banks and their client companies. The capacity building programs specifically involve helping banks to identify innovative green projects and appraising the corresponding loan applications. These programs also attach particular importance to raising companies’ awareness and to supporting them in the design of their green investments. Since 2007, AFD has committed EUR 1.5bn for the SUNREF program in its various countries of operation, in partnership with over 35 local banks. Over EUR 800m have already been disbursed to finance green projects, some of which are presented in the “Projects implemented” column of this website.

Investing in “green” projects that save resources increases the competitiveness of companies, which are consequently perceived as being less risky by banks.

These projects allow banks to diversify their sectors of operation towards high growth markets and position themselves as pioneers. The funded projects have very significant potential for replication and satisfactory rates of return.

This financing also gives partner banks visibility in terms of image: nationally, with local authorities, and internationally, which can give them access to other international financing.

Financial intermediaries play a structuring role in the economies of AFD’s countries of operation. They are powerful drivers in implementing local public policies with operators which AFD cannot reach directly (SMEs for example).

The financing of small-scale infrastructure or the SME base in countries (which often accounts for the bulk of the national private sector) depends on the debt contribution, particularly long-term debt, made by these operators.

The objective is to bring the partner bank to finance more innovative private development projects than those usually financed. This involves moving from a “risk averse” approach to a “business opportunity” approach. The appraisal aims to identify what the partner bank spontaneously finances in the country of operation and what it could finance more on the basis of the SUNREF eligibility criteria. SUNREF credit lines are situated at a stage well ahead of market maturity.

There are many actors involved in the program and it is this which creates the wealth of banking intermediation projects.

 

AFD – Agence Française de Développement Donor for credit lines and investment premiums
Technical assistance team Provides support to partner banks, project initiators and national partners for the operational implementation of the program
National partners Local intermediaries for the program
Consultant Auditor Verifies the eligibility of projects and their implementation
Partner bank Appraises and finances eligible projects
Project initiator Submits a project to be assessed and financed

Thanks to the subsidies allocated by the French Government, European Union or other partners, technical assistance is provided to actors free of charge, or at a very affordable cost, and helps them upgrade their facilities.

A SUNREF technical assistance program generally comprises:

  • The development of communication and information tools: promotion of the credit line, contribution to raising awareness of energy management issues and the project’s visibility
  • The creation of a portfolio of energy efficiency and renewable energy subprojects eligible for the credit line: identification of projects, assistance to companies in setting up and monitoring projects by conducting feasibility studies, energy audits and assessments as needed
  • Capacity building for the different actors and knowledge transfers: training for partner banks (better understanding of the sector, better analysis of the risks associated with the corresponding investments, support for the development of a commercial strategy for “green” investments and the implementation of dedicated operational procedures, assistance in structuring a permanent range of self-supporting green finance when the program has reached completion), organization of training workshops and sessions to disseminate technical knowledge to contracting authorities, private companies, local technical service providers and professional organizations.

FAQ

Acteurs clés du secteur privé, les institutions financières peuvent jouer un rôle pivot dans le financement de la transition vers une économie verte moins consommatrice de ressources.

Malgré un potentiel avéré, le financement de ces investissements par les banques locales reste encore limité du fait d’un ensemble d’obstacles techniques (cadres réglementaires nationaux, manque d’expertises locales)  et financiers (petite entreprise perçue comme plus risquée, capitaux limités, compétences encore fragiles au sein des banques).

Néanmoins, il existe un marché intermédiaire entre les grandes entreprises déjà régulièrement financées par les banques locales et les entreprises qui ne seraient pas à même de bénéficier d’un crédit.

L’objectif de l’initiative SUNREF (Sustainable Use of Natural Ressources and Energy Finance) développée par l’Agence Française de Développement (AFD) est d’appuyer des institutions financières et leurs clients pour stimuler le financement de projets de gestion durable des ressources naturelles, en particulier d’énergie propre.

L’action de l’AFD consiste d’une part à proposer des instruments financiers de long terme et d’autre part à contribuer au renforcement des capacités techniques des banques et de leurs clients, les entreprises. Les programmes de renforcement des capacités consistent précisément à appuyer les banques dans l’identification de projets verts innovants et l’évaluation des dossiers de crédit correspondants. Ces programmes attachent également une importance particulière à la sensibilisation et à l’appui aux entreprises pour la conception de leurs investissements verts. Depuis 2007 et dans ses différents pays d’intervention, l’AFD a engagé 1.5 milliards d’euros sur le programme SUNREF, en partenariat avec plus de 35 banques locales. Plus de 800 M€ ont d’ores et déjà été décaissés pour financer des projets verts dont certains exemples sont présentés dans la rubrique « Réalisations » de ce site Internet.

Investir dans des projets « verts » d’économies de ressources permet de renforcer la compétitivité des entreprises qui sont de fait perçues comme moins risquées par les banques.

Pour les banques, ces projets permettent de diversifier leurs champs d’intervention vers des marchés en forte croissance et de se positionner en acteur pionnier. Les projets financés ont un potentiel de réplication très important et des taux de retours satisfaisants.

Ces financements offrent également une visibilité aux banques partenaires en termes d’image : nationale auprès des autorités locales, et  internationale, pouvant ainsi leur ouvrir l’accès à d’autres financements internationaux.

Les intermédiaires financiers jouent un rôle structurant dans les économies des pays d’intervention de l’AFD. Ce sont des leviers considérables pour décliner les politiques publiques locales auprès d’opérateurs que l’AFD ne peut toucher en direct (PME par exemple).

Le financement d’infrastructures à petite échelle ou du tissu de PME des pays (souvent représentatif de l’essentiel du secteur privé national) est dépendant de l’apport en dette,en particulier dette de long terme, par ces opérateurs.

L’objectif est d’amener la banque partenaire à financer des projets de développement privés plus innovants que ceux habituellement financés, en passant d’une approche « risk averse » à une approche « opportunité de business ». L’instruction doit permettre d’identifier ce que la banque partenaire finance spontanément dans le pays d’intervention et ce qu’elle pourrait  davantage financer selon les critères d’éligibilité SUNREF. Les lignes de crédit  SUNREF se placent dans des stades très amont de maturité des marchés.

Les acteurs impliqués dans le programme sont nombreux et c’est ce qui fait la richesse des projets d’intermédiation bancaire

 

AFD – Agence Française de Développement Bailleur des lignes de crédit et des primes à l’investissement
 Equipe d’Assistance Technique Procure un support aux banques partenaires,  porteurs de projets et aux partenaires nationaux pour la mise en œuvre opérationnelle du programme
Partenaires nationaux Relaient le programme localement
Consultant Vérificateur Vérifie l’éligibilité des projets et leur mise en œuvre
Banque Partenaire Instruit et finance des projets éligibles
Porteur de projet Soumet un projet pour son étude et financement

Grâce à des subventions octroyées par le gouvernement français, l’Union européenne ou d’autres partenaires, l’assistance technique est mise à disposition des acteurs sans aucun frais ou à coût très abordable et leur offre une mise à niveau accompagnée de leurs installations.

De manière générale, un programme d’assistance technique SUNREF comporte :

  • le développement d’outils de communication et d’information : promotion de la ligne de crédit, contribution à la sensibilisation aux enjeux de la maîtrise de l’énergie et à la visibilité du projet
  • la construction d’un portefeuille de sous-projets d’efficacité énergétique et d’énergie renouvelable éligibles à la ligne de crédit : identification de projets,  appui aux entreprises pour le montage et le suivi de projets grâce à la réalisation d’études de faisabilité, d’audits énergétiques, d’expertises ciblées selon les besoins
  • le renforcement des capacités des différents acteurs et transfert de connaissances : formation des banques partenaires (meilleure connaissance du secteur, meilleure analyse des risques associés aux investissements correspondants, appui au développement d’une stratégie commerciale autour des investissements « verts » et à la mise en place de procédures opérationnelles dédiées, appui dans la structure d’une offre pérenne de finance verte auto-porteuse après la fin du programme); organisation d’ateliers et de sessions de formation destinés à disséminer des connaissances techniques aux maîtrises d’ouvrages, aux entreprises privées, prestataires de services techniques locaux et organisations professionnelles.