www.sunref.org

Back to home
Back to list

A supermarket improves its energy mix in Senegal

In order to improve the energy performance and to cut on the energy expenses of Almadies Casino, Green Yellow Senegal company benefited from the support of Agence Française de Développement (AFD) through SUNREF. Thanks to the financing of Orabank Senegal and a tailor-made support, Green Yellow was able to proceed on green investment in energy efficiency and renewable energy

Green Yellow Senegal company is an Energy Service Company (ESCo) that offers its services, which are a wide range of energy solutions, to professionals. Its main objective is to help its clients reduce their energy bills; the clients share the benefits within a specific time-limit. Green Yellow Senegal is a subsidiary of Green Yellow, which belongs to Casino Group. It numbers today more than 900 energy performance contracts that are run over the world; among them, 130 MWc are solar photovoltaic energy. In the context of an environment that has become very competitive in Senegal, as new distribution groups have entered the national market, with the aim of improving its competitiveness and its CSR policy, Almadies Casino Supermarket signed an energy performance contract with Green Yellow with two objectives: on the one hand, to improve the energy supply to Almadies Casino by setting up a 122 KWc solar photovoltaic system on the mall rooftop; on the other hand, to improve the energy performance of the building by upgrading the energy consumption of lighting and cooling systems (optimization of cold production, installation of doors and cowls on cold production units). On the whole, the green investment can reduce energy expenditure by 35%; among them, 20% account for energy efficiency measures and 15% for photovoltaic panels.

Thanks to SUNREF West Africa, AFD green finance label, Green Yellow benefited from a financial and technical support to realize this energy efficiency and renewable energy project.

Orabank Senegal, SUNREF partner bank in West Africa, allocated a €197,455 credit to the company and covered almost 70% of the project financing needs.

In addition to the financial support, the technical assistance support offered by SUNREF programme experts enabled a global assessment of the project: identification of investment opportunity, conception, follow-up, selection of the most adapted technologies and follow-up of environmental and social impact.

SUNREF West Africa programme enabled both to strengthen the investment structuration through technical assistance, and to facilitate its local financing thanks to dedicated financial resources used by the partner bank.

A system of investment allowances that are granted to project sponsors once the investment has been realized constitutes an additional incentive. That is why SUNREF facilitated the development and the financing of this renewable energy and energy efficiency project in this very innovative sector for banking players in West Africa.

This project contributes to achieve SUNREF objectives: to facilitate access to sustainable and affordable energy in order to ensure the development of a low carbon economy and contribute to tackle the causes of climate change.

  • With the financial participation of
  • In partnership with

  • Reduction of 370 t eq CO2 /y
  • Energy production: 196 000 kWh/y
  • Reduction in energy consumption: 35 %
Others projects to discover
South Africa
Energy Efficiency / SUNREF project

Promoting a green energy transition in South Africa

Bénin
Energy Efficiency / Green investment

A solar mini grid to electrify a poultry farm in Benin

Kenya
Energy Efficiency / Green investment

Banking on new technology to modernize textile firm and expand capacity

www.sunref.org

Retour à l'accueil
retour à la liste

Un supermarché améliore son modèle énergétique au Sénégal

Afin d’améliorer la performance énergétique et de réduire les dépenses d’énergie du centre commercial Casino Almadies, la société Green Yellow Sénégal a bénéficié de l’appui de l’Agence Française de Développement (AFD) par le biais de SUNREF. Grâce à un financement de la banque partenaire Orabank Sénégal et un appui sur mesure, Green Yellow a pu procéder à des investissements verts dans le domaine de l’efficacité énergétique et de l’énergie renouvelable

La société Green Yellow Sénégal est une Entreprise de Services Energétiques (ESE), une entreprise de services offrant aux professionnels une vaste gamme de solutions énergétiques, dont le but principal est la réalisation d’économies d’énergie pour son client, qui en partage les bénéfices avec elle, durant un délai déterminé. Green Yellow Sénégal est une filiale de Green Yellow, qui appartient au groupe Casino. Elle compte aujourd’hui plus de 900 contrats de performance énergétique en exploitation dans le monde, dont 130 MWc de solaire photovoltaïque. Face à un environnement devenu très concurrentiel au Sénégal, avec l’arrivée sur le marché de nouvelles enseignes de distribution, dans le souci d’améliorer sa compétitivité et sa politique RSE, le supermarché Casino Almadies a conclu un contrat de performance énergétique avec Green Yellow, dans un double objectif : d’une part améliorer l’approvisionnement en énergie du Casino Almadies en installant une centrale solaire photovoltaïque de 122 KWc sur la toiture du centre commercial, d’autre part améliorer la performance énergétique du bâtiment, en optimisant la consommation énergétique des systèmes d’éclairage et de refroidissement (optimisation de la production de froid, pose de portes et de capots sur les meubles froids). L’ensemble de ces investissements verts permet une réduction totale des dépenses énergétiques de l’ordre de 35 %, pour 20 % grâce aux mesures d’efficacité énergétique, et 15 % grâce aux panneaux photovoltaïques.

Grâce à SUNREF Afrique de l’Ouest, le label finance verte de l’AFD, Green Yellow a bénéficié d’un appui financier et d’un accompagnement technique pour réaliser ce projet d’efficacité énergétique et d’énergie renouvelable.

Orabank Sénégal, banque partenaire de SUNREF en Afrique de l’Ouest, a accordé à la société un prêt de 197 455 euros, lui permettant ainsi de couvrir près de 70 % des besoins de financement de son projet.

En complément de l’appui financier, le support des experts de l’assistance technique du programme SUNREF a permis une évaluation globale du projet : identification de l’opportunité d’investissement, montage, suivi du projet, sélection des technologies les mieux adaptées et suivi des impacts environnementaux et sociaux de l’investissement.

Le programme SUNREF Afrique de l’Ouest a donc permis à la fois de renforcer la structuration de l’investissement, via l’assistance technique, et de favoriser son financement localement grâce à des ressources financières dédiée mises à disposition de la banque partenaire.

Un système de primes d’investissement, attribuées aux porteurs de projets après réalisation des investissements constitue en outre une incitation supplémentaire. SUNREF a ainsi facilité le développement et le financement de ce projet d’énergie renouvelable et d’efficacité énergétique sur un secteur qui est très innovant pour les acteurs bancaires en Afrique de l’Ouest.

Ce projet participe à atteindre les objectifs de SUNREF : faciliter l’accès à une énergie durable et abordable afin d’assurer le développement d’une économie sobre en carbone et contribuer à agir sur les causes du changement climatique.

  • Avec la participation financière de
  • En partenariat avec

  • Réduction de 370 t eq CO2 /an
  • Production d’énergie : 196 000 kWh/an
  • Réduction de la consommation énergétique : 35 %
Autres projets à découvrir
Maurice
Efficacité énergétique / Investissement Vert

Un hôtel 4*mise sur la performance énergétique et environnementale

Maurice
Environnement / Investissement Vert

Favoriser un lavage de véhicules plus écologique

Maurice
Energie renouvelable / Investissement Vert

Un bateau touristique innovant grâce à l’énergie solaire